©2019 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.® Epsilon Chi Omega Chapter 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.® is not responsible for the design nor content of these web pages. They are the sole property and responsibility of the Epsilon Chi Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this site.

For questions regarding this website, please email ecotech1908@gmail.com.

Chapter History

Our charter members discussed the possibility of starting a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated serving the Florence/Darlington area, and the worked began to become the first women's Greek letter chapter within the Pee Dee. After careful and intuitive deliberations, they formulated the necessary procedures for the subsequent chartering of Epsilon Chi Omega Chapter. As a result, on March 8, 1952, Epsilon Chi Omega was chartered in Florence, South Carolina at the old Wilson High School on Athens Street.

Since its humble beginnings, over many years, the dynamic leadership of 29 presidents; coupled with the noteworthy contributions of its members; the chapter boasts of having realized significant accomplishments that characterize, and lend credence to, our motto of “Service to All Mankind”.

Charter Members

Henrietta Alford McClain

Joyce Jenkins Thompson White

Hilda Grayson Johnson

Constance L. Cave Smiley

Lillian Henderson Bradford

Elizabeth Meetze Scott

Sara K. Allen Waymer

Elizabeth Howard Wilder

Louise Rainey Lester

Roberta Durant

Bertha Moses Sumter

Jeanne Lee Wade

Helen Bartelle James

Toynetta (Geraldine) Zimmerman McGraw

Leona Wilkinson Howard

Carrie R. Lawrence

Dorothy Gerideau Nixon Bailey

Past Presidents

Constance CaveMar. 1952-Dec. 1953
Louise Lester1954-1955
Addie Meetz1956-June 1960
Roberta Durant June 1960-1961
Lillian Bradford1962-1963
Dorothy Wearring1964-1965
Bertha Sumter 1966-1967
Hilda R. Johnson1968-1969
Caroline Farmer 1970-1971
Leonye Cunningham1972-1975
Beatrice Streater1976-1977
Yvette Pierce1978-1979
Diana Charles1980-1981
Jacqueline Brooks1982-1982
Yvonne Jones1983-1985
Stella Carmichael1986-1986
Esma Gandy1987-1988
Bettye D. Johnson1989-1990
Juanita Gerald1991-1992
Maureen Thomas1993-1996
Yvonne Jones 1997-1998
Juanita Gerald 1999-2000
Marlene Williams2001-2002
Camilla Jones2003-July 2004
Gloria FriesonJuly 2004-2006
Frances Fields*2007-2008
Wilson A. Addison2009-2010
Marlena S. Wright


 Wilson A Addison 2015-2016
 Carla A Jefferson 2017 - 2018

*Centennial President

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software